PRESS STATEMENT

ELECTION OF NON-CONSTITUENCY MEMBERS OF PARLIAMENT IN GENERAL ELECTION 2015

The Parliamentary Elections Act ("Act") states that, at any General Election, the number of Non-Constituency Members of Parliament (NCMPs) to be declared elected shall be 9 less the number of Opposition MPs elected. The NCMPs to be declared elected shall be determined from amongst the candidates of the Opposition parties contesting the General Election on the basis of the percentage of votes polled by such candidates. (Details are spelt out in Section 52 of the Act.)

- As six Opposition MPs were elected to Parliament in the General Election 2015, three candidates who received the highest votes amongst the unelected candidates from the Opposition parties shall be declared elected as NCMPs.
- 3 Ms Lee Li Lian (The Workers' Party) who contested in Punggol-East Single-Member Constituency and Mr Dennis Tan Lip Fong (The Workers' Party) who contested in Fengshan Single-Member Constituency received the top two highest percentages of votes amongst the unelected Opposition candidates.
- The Workers' Party group of candidates who contested in the East Coast Group Representation Constituency received the third highest percentage of votes amongst the unelected Opposition candidates. They are Mr Gerald Giam Yean Song, Mr Daniel Goh Pei Siong, Mr Mohamed Fairoz Bin Shariff and Mr Leon Perera. The Returning Officer wrote to the group on 15 September 2015 and asked the group to determine amongst themselves, by 22 September 2015, the one to be declared elected as a NCMP. The group informed the Returning Officer on 16 September 2015 of their decision to nominate Mr Leon Perera as the one to be declared elected as NCMP.
- Based on the above, in accordance with Section 52 of the Act, the Returning Officer has declared the following candidates as the candidates elected as NCMPs: Ms Lee Li Lian (The Workers' Party), Mr Dennis Tan Lip Fong (The Workers' Party) and Mr Leon Perera (The Workers' Party).

ISSUED BY
ELECTIONS DEPARTMENT
16 SEPTEMBER 2015